Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that Nature's Way will be successful in terms of business in the town of Plainsville (PV). To support this claim, the author explains that the store tends to be successful in areas where residents lead healthy lives and believes that PS is one of the areas. However, the claim is based on several weak assumptions that are defective in a logical aspect.

First, the author proposes that the residents of PV lead healthy lives because merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are high in PS. However, the author fails to consider other possible factors that could have contributed to the sales of running shoes and exercise clothing. In other word, the fact that those items are well sold in PS does not necessarily represent that the residents are interested in leading healthy lives. The cultural trend of PS could have contributed to the sales of the items. We should not overlook the phenomenon that many young adults enjoy dressing up in basketball uniforms and yoga leggings as casual clothes. They simply wear those outfits even though they do not participate in any sports. Thus, the author must provide a stronger evidence that the purchase of running shoes and exercise outfits directly led to exercising activities. Furthermore, the fact that local health clubs have more members than ever does not lead to the conclusion that the residents are engaged in exercises. The number of members could have increased recently because the gym has launched a new discount program. Thus, we must rather have data about how many residents actually exercise, not how many residents are enrolled in the local health clubs.

Second, the author hastily assumes that the residents are interested in health food and health-related products because they seem to enjoy exercise. However, it is probably not so. Many people do not necessarily believe that health-related products directly enhance physical well-being and sometimes consider those products pseudoscientific. Even if the residents of PV are interested in physical well-being, they may not be interested in the products that Nature's Way sells. To better assess the argument, we must be directly infromed how the residents of PV think of the products that Nature's Way sells and if they are interested in purchasing the products.

Lastly, the author readily assumes that schoolchildren will be potential customers for Nature's Way because they are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program. Yet, this is another poor assumption that weakens the argument. As a common sense, schoolchildren are not likely to be their customers because they do not have much money to spend on buying health-related products. Schoolchildren are not likely to spend their allowance on buying health products and foods even if they are informed about the benefits of regular exercise because it is common for their parents to buy grocery and provide meals. Even if the fitness-for-life program is highly effective, it will only emphasize the importance of regular exercise, not the importance of consuming health-related products. To bolster the argument, the author should provide more evidence that schoolchildren in PV actually participate in buying groceries and the fitness-for-life program teaches about healthy eating habits as well as the importance of regular exercise.

In conclusion, the author's claim is not justifialbe since it is based on multiple poor assumptions. In order to strenthen the argument, the author must provide the evidences that are indicated above. Or else, the argument stays vulenrable to criticism.