A Nation Should Require All Of Its Students To Study The Same National Curriculum Until They Enter College.

The speaker asserts that a nation must use the same national curriculum until its students enter college. It is often easy to administer educational system under one unified policy or curriculum. However, I disagree with the claim because unified curriculum inhibits schools to detect malpractice and problem of the system. Indeed, it cannot be a fair system in reality, anyways.

Admittedly, in terms of administration, nothing can be easier and seemingly fair than using one unified curriculum to educate and grade students. We cannot neglect the fact the some schools have different curriculums with different levels. As GPA is one of the most important factors for college admission, some may argue that the students who have studied through a relatively difficult curriculum will be disadvantaged in college admission. Furthermore, using the same curriculum reduces the workload of teachers and administrators of schools. Financially speaking, we can expect saving some budget on developing different curriculums and executing a variety of curriculums in different ways.

However, in terms of reality, use of one curriculum for all schools in the nation cannot be fair. Furthermore, schools and students will be unable to detect problems in curriculum easily. First, students may need different curriculum based on different regions and cultures. For instance, students in California may enjoy physical education class in November while students in Minnesota would have much more difficulty in following the national curriculum due to heavy snow. As another example, students in the Southwest may find learning Spanish useful while other students may not benefit from it much. In reality, we must consider customizing the curriculum to suit each school based on its cultural aspect and geographical trait to be fair for all. Second, we should not overlook the fact that one seemingly perfect policy can never be perfect for all. We have witnessed how imposed unified codes often put pressure on people's freedom throughout the history. Nazis' moral codes, Mao's dictatorship and brutal inquisition in Spain all seemed correct and absolute during that time. Yet, we all know how each historical event had blinded people to realize their malpractice, since everyone was behaving in the same way, and ended in disasters. It is important to leave a room for all schools to uniquely develop their own curriculum which best fits their students, in order to detect malpractice, if any occurs.

In sum, I admit that the speaker's assertion that a nation should adopt one unified national curriculum for its students seemingly has some advantages in terms of administration and economy. However, in reality, it will eventually damage schools and students.