If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

The speaker asserts that it is justifiable to take any means to attain a worthy goal. Often, successful people testify how they achieved the success because they took any means to achieve the goal. However, I partially disagree with the speaker’s position given that some of the seemingly plausible goals for the society can bring detrimental results on many people in the process of pursuing them.

Admittedly, in terms of personal growth and development, taking any means to achieve his or her goal often accelerates the process. As an example, there is the case of my sister. Since young, she has dreamed of becoming a veterinarian. However, my family could not afford the outrageous tuition and living expense even when she was admitted to the veterinarian school. In order to accomplish her goal, she has worked multiple jobs even though her school highly recommends its students to not work during their intensive veterinarian program. Though she has broken the advice and concealed the fact that she was working, she eventually attained the goal of becoming a veterinarian. Without taking drastic measures, she could have been unable to graduate from the program due to the financial problem.

However, when we set goals for the whole society, taking any means to accomplish goals often harms a lot of members of the society. It is often difficult to realize flaws of the goal when a large number of people participate together to achieve the goal. Take Marxism is an example. Karl Marx believed that capitalistic society will eventually diminish because our lives are distorted in a capitalistic society. According to Marx, a capitalist society is not ideal because it only forces individuals to produce maximum monetary compensation while only a few people hold privileges in the society. Thus, Marx concluded that we must evolve from a capitalistic society to a fair communist society and many agreed him at that time. However, to achieve this sounding goal, we have witnessed too many flaws and wrongdoings that communist nations had made in the process. Marx’ seemingly perfect goal revealed that it is a human nature to seek privileges and enjoy them. In the Soviet Union, not many were able to criticize misconducts of the government because the government has silenced people as a means to blind people from seeing anything other than the goal of making a communist utopia.

In conclusion, i admit that the speaker is correct that taking any means to achieve the goal occasionally helps achieving the goal in a short period of time for individuals. However, we should not overlook the fact that there is no goal that is mutually perfect for societies and some of the members in the society may have to sacrifice themselves to achieve the goal for the society.