When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that XYZ must use Delany Personnel Firm instead of Walsh Personnel Firm to offer laid-off employees assistance in finding jobs. To support this conclusion, the author uses XYZ’s experience with Walsh eight years ago and claims that Walsh was less effective in providing assistance than Delany. Furthermore, the author claims that Delany is clearly superior because it has larger number of branch offices and staffs. However, this argument is unpersuasive to me since it relies on weak assumptions that are defective in a logical aspect.

First, the author proposes that Delany is superior than Walsh because Delany, in current days, took shorter time to find jobs for the laid-off employees than Walsh did in eight years ago. However, the author’s comparison is not persuasive because he or she compares two companies’ performances at two different time points. At this moment, we do not know how the job market was like in eight years ago. If the job market was depressed and there were simply less positions available eight years ago, Delany could have suffered from finding jobs for the employees, too. In order to bolster his or her claim, the author must provide performance reports from Walsh and Delany collected from eight years ago and compare them.

Second, the author claims that Delany is superior because it has more staffs and branch offices than Walsh. Yet, the fact that Delany has more staffs and offices does not necessarily represent its superiority. On the other hand, its service and performance can be mediocre despite its huge size because it has spent too much budget on expanding the business, not enhancing the service quality. At this moment, we are not sure how much Delany spends its budget on training its staffs and developing programs, both of which are two important contents that directly enhances the quality of service. Instead of claiming that Delany is superior due to its large business size, the author must provide information about its service quality.

Third, the author fails to provide clear information about qualities of jobs that Delany and Walsh found for the laid-off employees in the last year. Though Delany took shorter time than Walsh to find jobs for its clients, as the author mentioned, we do not know what type of jobs each company found for its clients. It is possible that Delany took shorter time because it found positions that are easy to apply but with low salary.

To conclude, the argument relies on several poor assumptions as I mentioned above and does not provide adequate information. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide more evidences, such as performance reports of both companies at the same time point, how much Delany spends its budget to improve its service quality and what quality of jobs each companies search for the clients. As a result, without the additional information indicated above, the argument is vulnerable to criticism.