"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

The author claims that WWAC radio station should change its current rock-music form to a news-and-talk format. To support this claim, the author asserts that it is necessary to make new residents to their listeners and many local stores selling recorded music have recently closed. However, this argument is unpersuasive to me since it relies on poor assumptions that are defective in a logical aspect.

First, the author proposes that the population in his or her area grew mainly because people moved to his or her neighborhood after their retirement. Then, he hastily assumes that they have limited interest in music based on the phenomenon that he or she observed how local stores closed. However, this assumption is based on a post hoc fallacy. Just because they moved into the his or her town and local stores that sell recorded music closed, it does not necessarily mean that new residents have limited interest in music. The stores could have closed because of recent advancement in internet platforms that stream music, such as Spotify or Pandora. Or, the listeners could have left temporarily left the town because it was the season for vacation. As it stands, we do not have adequate information why local music stores closed or why the number of listeners has decreased. To better assess the argument, we must have further information about why the stores have closed.

Second, the author believes that switching from its current rock-music form to a news-and-talk format would attract new listeners because the later form is increasingly popular in his or her area. However, where did his observation that a news-and-talk format is popular come from? Probably, it is from other radio stations in his or her area. The fact that there are other radio stations that already adopted the news-and-talk format implies that there are competitors that have been working on this format before WWAC. As it stands, it is unclear how WWAC can attract more listeners to their station while there are other popular stations that already work on the same format. Thus, the author must provide more specific plans of how WWAC will attract more listeners through using the same format that others are using and win over competitors.

Third, the author failed to resolve the issue through other ways besides switching the format. While the author confidently claims that the number of their listeners has been declining because the people in the area are not interested in rock music. However, it could be due to insufficient advertising. WWAC could have attracted more listeners if they had advertised their station to the new residents. To strengthen the claim, the author must provide data that the radio station has tried other possible measures to attract its listeners before they make a huge transition from a rock-music station to a news-and-talk station.

To conclude, the argument relies on several weak assumptions and fallacies. To bolster his argument, he must provide the evidences that are indicated above. Or else, the argument is vulnerable to criticism.