Scandals are useful because they direct our attention on problem in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

The speaker asserts that many scandals rather than reformers prevent public figures, especially politicians from being corruptible and deteriorating by disclosing their wrongdoings. However, the full coverage of scandals turn people's attention away from significant points and undermines the societies' or the governments' authorities. Thus, I disagree partially with the speaker's position.

Admittedly, there is no trivializing that scandals are important stimulants to prevent the misconducts of political leaders through revealing their wrongs. Political leaders readily conceal their wrongdoings through abusing their power. Revealed scandals usually attract public attention to their leaders' illegal behaviors and serve to scrutinize their misconducts. The Watergate scandal is good example. Two reporters for the Washington Post disclosed the possibility that President Nixon would have been involved with eavesdropping. Though he denied strongly, the angered public required further scrutiny, and the president eventually resigned his office. As a result, disclosed scandals can play a vital role in monitoring political leaders' wrongdoings, restricting their abused power, and improving politicians' moral standard.

However, there is no denying that the excessive news coverage of scandals has also harmful effects on society. Excessive concentrations on scandals too often cause people to turn away national significant problems. In particular, mass media, which wish to draw more clients, tend to deal with trivial personal problems by only placing the priority on the superficial social issues. Moreover, the excessive disclose fo public figures' wrongdoings undermine public trust in politicians as if they all always commit immoral actions. In fact, judging from the considerable improved institutional mechanism, the rate of corruption seems to be lower than before. However, the highlighted political scandals make people regard their leaders as dishonest. Such phenomena strengthen people's political indifference, which are harmful to political stability or national security. In addition, it is difficult to expect desirable policy debate in the election campaign because politicians tend to abuse scandal as a campaign strategy. If these scandals dominate the society, our society would be unsound rather than healthy.

In conclusion, although I admit that scandals play a constructive role in society, too much disclosed coverage of scandals not only turn people's attention into trivial celebrities' privates, but also weaken public trust in government. Thus, we must take discreet advantage of scandals of the purposing preventing their disadvantages.