Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author of the issue states that scandals are useful since they include information that no speaker or reformer can easily talk about and people would pay attention to problems of a society in a different way by knowing about scandals. As far as I am concerned, scandals include positive points, but disadvantageous of this type of news mostly overtook the advantageous so I disagree with the statement.

The first and maybe the only positive effect of scandals lies behind the fact that revealing secrets and conspiracies in economic and political fields lead to preventing further growth of illegal actions. For instance, when people suddenly become aware that a famous politician connived a shady business deal, they will rebellion against the government and its corrupt officials. It is apparent that the fear of being notorious scarifies the government and they may relegate the incompetent officials. Additionally, the same situation will hold true for economic state of the government. The majority of embezzlements are done when officials are confident that nobody will know about their illegal contributions and they will achieve whatever they desire by bribery and fraudulent. However, if the scandals report what no speaker could talk about, the rate of financial corruption in the government may decrease.

On the contrary, scandals are sometimes misunderstood by rumors or gossips about personal life of people. Imagine a situation that yellow papers are revealing scandals of the life a Hollywood superstar. In fact, the main reason of giving out this information is gaining profit by selling news and attracting audience and there is no useful change or profit for the society. Moreover, some candidates for presidency or other high-responsibility and competing positions are inclined to disturb their opponents’ reputation by revealing their secrets. For example, how their families are behaving in society or even how they are buying votes of electorates by bribing them. Although this information may seem to be attractive at first sight, but there is not usage and benefit for people behind them except loosing trust to all candidates eventually.

Following that, focusing on the egregious problems that not everyone could easily talk about would bring chaos and feeling of unsafety to the society. When people hear scandals every now and then, they would consider that no one has a privacy and security of personal information anymore. While some specific characters are benefiting of this chaos, it is regular people who would suffer by negative thoughts. Therefore, scandals may not be the best way of reforming and scandals may alleviate some corruption at first but bring further consequences to both society and government.

To conclude, high-profiled information regarding the misconduct and corruption of people in a society are sometimes reveals as scandals by people who are not mostly seeking reformation and rehabilitation. Although fear of being infamous and notorious prohibits some illegal cooperation, it gradually deteriorates social security and safety. Consequently, government should be able to wrest control of the scandals and let them to be known publicly when necessary.