Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that it is incumbent upon government to provide as much money as major cities need to help them in development and triumphant. To support this claim, the author misleadingly relies on the fact that major cities are the first appropriate place to keep the cultural traditions of a nature safe and help their growth. However, as far as I am concerned, the author fails to bring convincing reasons.

On the one hand, allocating huge budget on major cities contributes to prosperity of that city in various fields such as political, economic, life standard and etc. It is immediately apparent that, financial support is mostly received by major cities such as capitals, metropolitan cities or cosmopolitan cities. The significant reason of this policy may lie behind the fact that major cities are the representative of a country that the important political and economic decisions are made there. For instance, the building of parliament or numerous vital organizations of a government are built in capitals which justifies the need of these cities of financial support. Additionally, major cities are the first target of tourists and visitors from all over the world where one nation’s culture is exhibited. Therefore, spending money on preserving major cities, keeping them clean, developing them and redecorating them lead to an acceptable place to demonstrate culture of a country.

On the other hand, when major cities receive financial support, it is possible that the allocated budget decreases in rural areas or suburbs. This negative correlation causes an irredeemable gap between life standard of the countryside and major cities that may force people to migrate from rural areas to major cities. This trend of movement may create the opportunity of having higher life standard for migrated rural people, but it brings further side effects such as the unsustainable growth of population and uncontrolled urban growth. Following that, when is replete with people who need housing, food and public services, government needs to allocate even more money on wresting control of the situation and the needs and wants of this huge population. All of these consequences together, not only may prevent preserving cultural traditions, but also creates a chaos and out of control situation in the society and cultural situation of the city.

Even if the money and support of the government help the major cities to thrive, the mentioned reason for this policy is fallacious. The author needs to provide convincing evidence regarding the relationship of triumph in major cities and a nation’s cultural tradition conservation. The fact that rural areas are rife with cultural traditions, dances, folk music, and fables is apparently obvious. However, the majority of rural areas are deprived of financial support to preserve their traditions. If the author seeks to make the argument credible, he should establish concrete reasons to answer the question that how the cities are able to maintain the traditions better than rural areas.

To conclude, the author needs to provide sufficient reasons to prove that how the major cities can efficiently improve and keep the cultural traditions of a nation to support the claim’s soundness. Otherwise, allocating huge money on major cities may incur huge loss on government since the claim is unreliable and maybe the cities fail to preserve the culture.