The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants. “Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term ‘butter’ to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well.”

The statement presents a recommendation from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants to use margarine instead of butter in the southeast and northeast restaurants as well as southwestern restaurants. The recommendation relies on the experiment in southwestern restaurants that revealed only 2 percent complains of customers. Also, the author assumes that people cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they consider them similar. As the author claims, changing butter with margarine in the southeast and northeast will increase profits of the restaurants. Although this change may seem reasonable at first sight, there exist a number of unexamined assumptions and unanswered questions that make the recommendation unreliable.

Firstly, the author does not clarify that the change is occurred for how many days in the southwestern restaurant. It is possible that using margarine instead of butter is a recent change in these restaurant and if the time passes the percent of complains increase. Additionally, the author is required to mention the number of customers of southwestern restaurant in order to evaluate that 2 percent is a great number or insignificant number of complains. Therefore, enough statistics and information regarding the details of the experiment in southwestern restaurant should be provided.

Another problem of the recommendation is that the author considers the 98 percent of people without complains as happy customers. However, there is a possibility that other people did not have time or patience to complain about the margarine but they were not satisfied with the new combination either. Furthermore, people should be informed of what are they receiving and considering the fact that they did not complain when they received margarine instead of butter as a positive sign is not ethical. Perhaps, those who did not mention the change were in a hurry that they did not notice and if they notice it next time they would not visit the restaurant anymore since they think this is a fraud.

Let us assume that using margarine instead of butter is fine for the customers as the author mentions. Now the exact amount of profits from this cost-saving change should be determined. Does the amount of gained profits from this change worth the risk of losing customers? Can the manager consider the taste of people of southwest, southeast and northeast the same? Perhaps, people of southwest has approved this change but other regions would not accept this and margarine is not their favorite taste at all. As a result, the manager cannot reach at the conclusion of applying this change as a pragmatic solution to all regions with different tastes.

To recapitulate, modifying the combination of a well-known pancake of a restaurant without further investigation and relying on the results of one region is totally refutable. There are numerous unexamined suppositions to be ponder over if the manger seeks to gain profits, otherwise the recommendation may incur loss.