Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

As the argument presents, special type of woven baskets including distinctive patterns were found near the village of Palea that caused archeologist to assign them to the Palean people. However, the same baskets and patterns were also available at the Lithos which is located across a deep river called Berim. According to the provided information the author concludes the so-called Palean baskets are not necessarily belong to Palean people. However, the author neglects to bring essential evidences that makes the argument untenable.

Firstly, the author mentions that the baskets have been found in immediate vicinity of the Palea. However, the measurement of vicinity needs clarification. If the author seeks to assign baskets by a particular pattern to the Palean, he is required to provide evidence about the location and distance of the place that they found the baskets to the Palea. Perhaps, the baskets were not a significant artifact of Palea or even Lithos, but it belonged to some other unknown city. Maybe, that anonymous city used to export these baskets to other places. Therefore, convincing proof and information regarding the history of the baskets, the places that these baskets were discovered along with their time should be provided to make the argument creditable.

Secondly, the fact that they have found baskets in Lithos where is separated by a deep and broad river from Palea includes numerous unanswered questions and without further evidence regarding the methods of transportation at that time era, the author cannot reach at the conclusion that these two places were not able to communicate. As the author claims, the archeologist were incapable of finding any boats so it is possible that people used to have a simple wooden bridge according to their own time technology that they used the bridge to go across the river and reach Lithos. In addition, the author fails to consider alternative possibilities such as other road from other city to circumvent the river. Therefore, the author cannot imply that the Berim river prohibited Palean people to communicate with Lithos residents.

Another fact that the author needs to take into consideration and bring substantial evidence is about the environmental change. How can the author guarantee that there were not changes in the environment of the area where Lithos and Palea are located? The information regarding the age of Berim river can weaken or strengthen the argument. If the river existed there before creation of Lithos and Palea the argument may receive credit, otherwise, examining the obstacles that river causes in the communication of these two cities according to the river’s current situation is totally fallacious.

To recapitulate, thoroughly examining the above-mentioned historical and environmental pivotal factors and bringing sufficient evidences for each one lead to a credible evaluation of the argument. If the seeks to state a convincing argument he needs to ponder over alternative possibilities regarding baskets, otherwise the argument is refutable.