There is now evidence that the relaxed pace of life in small towns promotes better health and greater longevity than does the hectic pace of life in big cities. Businesses in the small town of Leeville report fewer days of sick leave taken by individual workers than do businesses in the nearby large city of Masonton. Furthermore, Leeville has only one physician for its one thousand residents, but in Masonton the proportion of physicians to residents is five times as high. Finally, the average age of Leeville residents is significantly higher than that of Masonton residents. These findings suggest that the relaxed pace of life in Leeville allows residents to live longer, healthier lives.

The arguments claims that the only reason of higher average of age in Leeville town in comparison to the city of Masonton is the relaxed pace of life in Leeville. Although longevity depends on multiple factors, the author argues that the relaxed pace of life in small towns reduces sick leave reports that reveals their healthier lives. The author fallaciously neglected to ponder over alternative explanations and misleadingly considers the relaxed pace of life as the main source of longer life. Therefore, the argument is refutable.

Firstly, the pace of life in different towns cannot be evaluated by the number of reports of sick leave in business section. The modern lifestyle in cities creates conditions that people may get sick which are not related to stress, anxiety or pace of life at all. For instance, the large city of Masonton definitely experiences a myriad of cars that cause to have a low-quality air. Air pollution contributes to various maladies such as asthma that may prevent people to be present at work regularly. Furthermore, residents of towns have easy access to organic food, fruit, meat and etc. Consuming healthy food and following a healthy diet can significantly decrease the possibility of illness.

Secondly, regular exercise is another factor that ends up into a healthy life and greater average of age. People who live in town may have a garden or a lot of parks around them to do exercises, while residents of cities should pay expensive gyms to acquire a chance of regular exercises. The mentioned fact may decline the number of people who attend to gyms. Furthermore, maybe the number of reports of sick leave is lower in Leeville because people of towns are used to follow their traditional remedies for illnesses such as regular exercises, herbal tea or self-made potions. Thus, there exist numerous alternative explanations for longevity that author neglects to evaluate.

Following that, as stated in the argument, there is only one physician at the Leeville town. On the contrary, the number of physicians at the Masonton is five times high. This fact does not imply that the number of patients who visit a physician is high at the Masonton because of rapid pace of life. One can conclude that, the number of doctors at the city is higher at a city rather than a small town reasonably since the population of these two areas are disparate. Perhaps, the majority of visitors of Masonton doctors are from nearby town who are deprived of hospitals and physicians.

To recapitulate, longevity is a final result caused by multiple sources. The author cannot easily depend on the fact that the pace of life makes changes in the average age of people. The above-mentioned explanations may have effect on the longevity and they need to be considered to further evaluate the final conclusion of the author. Otherwise, the statement is rife with unexamined suppositions.