The council of Maple County, concerned about the county’s becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

The statement presents a prediction by the council of Maple County that claims the prices of housing in Maple County will increase because of a preventive program to restrict the overdeveloping of the Maple County. The prediction is mainly based on the fact that the restriction rule caused significant raise in the pricing of houses in Pine County fifteen years ago. However, the same rule caused only a trivial increase in the prices of houses in Chestnut County. The author has reached at this prediction based on unexamined suppositions and the prediction is replete with unanswered questions.

Firstly, the fact that Maple County is being overdeveloped should be evaluated incisively. What is the population of the Maple County? What is the area of the Maple County? Is the area of this county commensurate to its population? Answering these questions help the council to decide about the rate of growth in this county. Perhaps, the rate is negligible and the council can wrest control of the growth using alternative approaches such as building towers and apartments instead of houses to increase the development in vertical scale instead of horizontal scale. Therefore, pondering over sufficient statistics and information regarding the population and area of the county lead to a wise decision on preventing the development of existing farmlands in the county.

Secondly, the author mentions the results of the rule of farmland development restriction in two counties of Chestnut and Pine related to ten and fifteen years ago, respectively. The comparison reveals that the prices of houses in Chestnut county increased modestly, but Pine county experienced doubled prices since then. The comparison and results are rife with ambiguity. No information regarding the population, area, the primary prices of houses, and other effective factors are provided. Also, relying on the events of a decade ago to be useful for today’s economy is basically imprudent since both counties have confronted numerous changes and they may have different conditions in comparison to the Maple county.

Thirdly, by assuming that the proposed measure is passed by the council and the prices of houses are increased consequently, one cannot conclude that the prices are going to be fixed at that high price. It is possible that the high prices forces people to migrate from the county and search for a more reasonable place to live, so the prices may decrease again. In addition, the council is required to investigate on the wages of people and economic situations. Are the residents able to pay the increased rent by their current wages? How this inflation may impress daily life and economy of Maple county’s residents?

To summarize, the prediction needs to be evaluated deeply since there are a number of unanswered questions and no concrete evidence is provided to support the prediction. If the author seeks to reach at the conclusion that the prediction is true, he should elucidate the above-mentioned ambiguities, otherwise the prediction is untenable.