The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument brings information of a study on eighteen rhesus monkeys to claim that the levels of stimulation that depends on the cortisol hormone variates between first born child and his/her siblings. To prove this fact, the author misleadingly considers the results of study on monkeys to hold true for human being, too. There exist several alternative explanations which are neglected by the author that makes the argument unreliable.

The first challenging issue about the argument is that the argument is comparing a specific behavior in human and monkeys. The author claims without warrant that what held true about the monkeys will hold true about human being. Although there exist multiple researches on the evolution pattern and similarity of human and monkeys, relying on the result of a behavioral study on monkey may be a fallacious assumption for human. Furthermore, the compared stimulating situations are disparate and incomparable. While monkeys’ level of cortisol hormone increases by visiting an unfamiliar monkey, human experience rise of hormone by returning of a parent after an absence. It is apparently evident that the example for the human is an emotional situation that can affect both physical and mental reactions of a person. However, the monkey’s instinct may cause this reaction because of feeling danger that is common among numerous types of animals.

Also, the author fails to consider the alternative explanation of parent’s behavior in this argument. Perhaps, the way of treating the first child contributes to this level of produced cortisol in stimulating situations. It is possible that since the first child receives more attention than next siblings, his self-esteem differs from other children that causes different reactions in stimulating situations. In other words, the author should provide concrete evidence that the level of produced cortisol hormone hinges upon the physical factors of order of birth not mental state of the child.

Finally, the argument leaves many ambiguities regarding the pregnancy period of the monkeys. The argument would have been stronger had it provided information about alternative possibilities of producing cortisol. Does the mother monkey have lower levels of cortisol in her next birth giving? What are the contributing factors of producing cortisol? How many mother monkeys with several offspring have been compared to the first-time mother monkeys? Even then, the argument would have further proved that those eighteen rhesus monkeys in the study bear a close resemblance to a pregnant human in features of pregnancy and function of hormones.

To conclude, the argument evaluates the fact of higher levels of cortisol hormone of firstborn infant with results of a study on monkeys. Unexamined suppositions led to fallacious conclusion that both the first-mother monkey and human have higher levels of cortisol to transfer to their first child. If the author seeks to reach at a conclusion that the argument is reliable, he should elucidate the ambiguities and consider alternative explanations. Otherwise, the argument is untenable.