The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council. “An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where consumption of the plant beneficia is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of beneficia can prevent colds. Since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of nutritional supplements derived from beneficia. We predict this will dramatically reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces.”

The statement presents a recommendation from West Meria public health council that claims using a type of plant called beneficial results reduces the probability of catching cold. As the author argues the main reason of absenteeism in West Meria is catching a cold; thus the author assumes that consumption of nutritional supplements derived from beneficia can reduce absenteeism. Although the recommendation may seem to be reasonable at the first sight, there are a number of unexamined suppositions and unanswered questions which make the argument refutable.

Firstly, it is stated that the main reason of absenteeism is cold, however other reasons of absenteeism in West Meria are totally neglected. If the author seeks to consider cold as the major cause of being absent at school and workplace, he should provide incontrovertible evidence regarding the number of absent students and employees along with their reasons. Sufficient statistics and data about the percentage, number and reason of absent people are required to examine the reliability of recommendation. It is possible that people of West Meria have troubles with traffic, other diseases or even lethargy that they do not attend school or workplace very often.

Secondly, the author relies on the fact that people of east Meria visit doctor once or twice a year for treatment of cold. The author presumes that the reason of being strong against catching cold of residents of east Meria is using beneficia. However, he negates alternative possibilities such as life style and physical situation of people of east Meria. Perhaps, people of this region put on warm cloths, do regular exercises and follow a healthy diet that has made them strong against catching a cold. Additionally, the author does not compare the weather of east Meria to the west Meria. Maybe the inclement weather of west Meria leads to constant colds.

Thirdly, assuming that daily usage of beneficia may lessen the possibility of catching cold, the author needs to investigate the side effects of its daily usage. If the author seeks to reach at the conclusion that daily usage of beneficia in the form of nutritional supplements reduces colds, he should thoroughly evaluate further diseases that may occur by overconsumption of this compound. What if the people reveal a kind of allergy to this substance? In this case, the number of absent people not only will not reduce but also may increase because of chronic diseases caused by beneficia. Following that, having a substance as daily usage, one should investigate on its taste, color and smell. People cannot eat foods derived from beneficia in a daily manner, if they are not delicious.

To recapitulate, relying on the unexamined suppositions of using beneficia in a daily manner to reduce colds and providing recommendation to use this substance in a different region is untenable. The author needs to ponder over above-mentioned ambiguities and answer the questions to support his recommendation, otherwise the recommendation is refutable.