A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable

The argument presents a prediction that claims the new Captain Seafood restaurant in the Bay City is going to be a successful business. To support his prognostication, the author relies on two major assumptions. Since Bay City restaurants has experienced a 30 percent increase in the consumption of seafood dishes, the author assumes that a specialized restaurant in seafood should be profitable. Also, the fact that both parents in most of the families of Bay City have jobs, has led the author to consider that they eat out more but they also care about healthy food. Based on these unexamined suppositions the author predicts that the new restaurant is going to be a triumphant for the city.

Firstly, the statement claims that there was a study regarding the consumption of seafood dishes in the Bay City restaurants, but there is no available evidence, statistics or information to convince the reader that the number of seafood dishes has increased significantly. Perhaps, there was a major growth in the population of the city that caused a 30 percent increase in the number of seafood dishes of all restaurants. Also, the author should clarify that the study examined how many restaurants of the city. Whether seafood is favorable to a great group of residents should be evaluated. Maybe people just order seafood randomly and building a specialized seafood restaurant becomes a failure in business because of few customers.

Secondly, the author argues that families in the Bay City are occupied and buy with their jobs that they do not eat at home a lot. However, he does not bring concrete evidence to support his claim. How many two-income families are in the Bay City? The fact that both parents are working does not imply that they have enough money to eat out in a specialized seafood restaurant that may have high prices. If the author seeks to reach at the conclusion that two-income families pay attention to healthy food, he should provide the results of the nationwide study to prove that how many families follow this trend of healthy diet. Having a minority of families with the mentioned feature, the new business cannot rely on them to be a regular customer.

Let us assume that the new Captain Seafood restaurant has its own customers and is going to be a popular place. How the author supports the popularity of the restaurant? What are the plans of the owners regarding the location, prices, decoration, and quality of the seafood? The author has neglected numerous factors that affect the popularity of the restaurant. The only 30 percent increase in the consumption of seafood does not guarantee the prosperity of a specialized restaurant. Complementary factors such as location and easy access of the restaurant are from utmost importance. Furthermore, the prices of the food should commensurate with the quality to gain customers.

To summarize, although the prediction may appear logical at the first sight, it is rife with fallacious suppositions. To further support the prediction, the author is required to ponder over the above-mentioned questions and elucidate the ambiguities. Otherwise the argument is refutable and the business may not only confront vicissitudes, it may incur huge loss.