The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

“One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further.”

The statement presents a recommendation from the owner of the Sunnyside towers apartment building to its manager by the aim of reducing costs of water using modified showerheads with restricted water flow. Since the new showerheads control the water flow to one-third of its original, the owner claims that using them will lead to less water consumption and higher profits. Although the recommendation may seem to be practical at the first sight, it is replete with wholes and unexamined assumptions.

The first problem with the recommendation is that the author does not mention the total cost of changing showerheads for the whole twenty floors. The number of showers on each floor and cost of each new showerhead should be clarified. Maybe the expenditure of using new showerheads and their maintenance for the entire tower outfits the annual water bills. If the owner seeks to arrive at a profitable recommendation, sufficient statistics and data should be provided to evaluate the credibility of the recommendation.

Another weak point of the recommendation is about the usefulness of the new water flow. As the author mentions, one month ago they have changed showerheads of the first five floors but they did not test the actual reading of water before and after the modification. How can the owner make sure this is a practical solution without testing the results? It is possible that they receive an unexpected increase in the usage of water since the new water flow is one-third of its original and people need to stay a longer time in the shower to wash themselves with the low pressure of water. Furthermore, the author states that there were already few complaints about the low water pressure, though they have just installed modified the first five floors. There is a high possibility of an increase in the number of complaints in the future if they modify the rest of the floors since water flow is already low at higher altitudes.

Let us assume that new showerheads may reduce the water usage of apartments. How can the owner guarantee that the only source of water consumption is related to taking showers? Maybe people use dishwashers, bathrooms, washing machines and other devices a lot in a way that offset the effect of new showerheads. If the owner wants to pay for a new change, alternative factors that may influence the water consumption of residents should be investigated thoroughly.

To summarize, changing showerheads to new ones with lower rates of water consumption is reasonable if the owner and manager ponder over the assumptions and examine the possibilities and assumptions. Modifying the entire showerheads of a twenty-floor tower without evaluating its efficacy, not only may not bring a profit to the owner but also may incur loss.