The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 PM rather than 9:00 PM and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The statement recommends a solution to hinder further decline in profits of Movies Galore which is a video rental store chain with ten stores. As the author claims, the Movies Galore owns its reputation to offering great movies at low prices. Therefore, the author concludes they cannot increase their prices. Instead, the author recommends to change opening hours and eliminate some types of movies as an alternative approach to compensate the recent decrease in profits. Although this solution was successful in downtown store of Marston, the author cannot reach at the conclusion that the recommendation is also applicable for other stores without answering ambiguities. So the argument is refutable.

The first problem with the recommendation is that the statement deprives of sufficient evidence regarding the true source of Movies Galore’s reputation. If the author seeks to rely on the fact of low prices as a reason of the Galore’s popularity, he should compare the prices of Galore to other video rental stores in the area and provide reliable statistics and information. Otherwise, one can conclude that alternative features such as long working hours or movie types made them favorable to customers and if they eliminate these qualities the recommendation is not valid.

Additionally, it is possible that people are inclined to use online movies stores to watch their favorite movies. In this case, suggesting the Movies Galore to create a website to provide customers with online services is more reasonable than reducing operating expenses. Furthermore, Galore can hire a team of marketing to assess their expenditures and advertise Galore’s movies in new online markets.

Another problem with the argument is that the recommendation is based on an experiment in downtown Marston where one of the rental stores is located. As the author argues, the store is in Marston has reduced working hours from 9 PM to 6 PM and has eradicated movies released more than five years ago. The results of this changes were successful for downtown Marston, but what if the people of other regions do not prefer the changes. Do the people of other regions have time to visit Galore before 6 PM? What movies do the people of other regions frequently watch? Do they prefer new movies or old ones? The author is required to answer these questions and illuminate the ambiguities to validate the recommendation.

To recapitulate, applying significant changes to all stores of the Movie Galore chain store requires further investigations and cannot be based on the results of one region. The recommendation needs to be examined according to the above mentioned possibilities and author has to bring concrete evidence to answer the questions, otherwise the recommendation is not tenable.