The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of KNOW radio station. “Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music station. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of rock-and-roll music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. We predict that switching KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older listeners and make KNOW radio more profitable than ever.”

The statement presents a prediction from the manager of KNOW radio station regarding a switch in the radio’s program. As the manager predicts shifting the program from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will increase the number of listeners of the radio and consequently the profit of the station. The recommendation is based on unexamined supposition that the station has experienced a decline in the total number of listeners along with the number of rock-and-roll fans. Since the author neglects to answer questions and elucidate the ambiguities, the prediction is not reliable.

Firstly, concrete evidence about the number of listeners of the KNOW radio including their ages should be available. Also, the statistics need to be compared with the number of listeners of other radio stations with rock-and-roll music. This comparison enables us to decide whether the number of rock-and-roll music listeners has totally declined or there are some lacks about the programs of KNOW radio station that caused loosing listeners. If the latter proves to be true, changing to news type of program may become a fiasco.

Secondly, as the author argues, the number of listeners who are over fifty years old are increased. However, the total number of listeners of KNOW radio station has declined. Additionally, there was a fall in the number of sales of rock-and-roll music on the stores. Putting these evidences together, one may reach at the conclusion that listeners are not following radio broadcasts or buying CDs for listening to rock-and-roll. Perhaps, youngesters prefer to listen to this type of music online so that the only remaining listeners of KNOW radio are people above fifty who are not comfortable with using technology and they choose conventional method of radio instead.

Thirdly, the prediction of the manager to establish a new program based on news may confront irreparable loss of money and reputation since there are numerous radio stations in the field of news who are experts in this market. Therefore, competing with professional radio stations may require huge effort and budget and the manager cannot guarantee the incoming profits. If the manager seeks to convince the administration that the prediction is profitable, he should examine the credibility of the prediction via providing methods to attract other older listeners to the assumed successful news program. Considering the fact that a new marketing team is required for this task, the manager should eradicate vague assumptions to inhibit further loss.

To summarize, the prediction relies on suppositions and unanswered questions so it cannot be applicable for the KNOW radio station without further investigation. There exist alternative reasons as mentioned above regarding the fact of recent fewer listener that need to be evaluated incisively. Otherwise, the prediction is untenable.