Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

The argument states a new recommendation of anthropologists that claims it is reliable to conduct an interview-centered method instead of an observation-centered method while studying child-rearing practices in Tertia island. This recommendation is mostly based on Dr. Karp recent investigation on a group of islands including Tertia that revealed different information using interview-centered approach from information obtained twenty year ago by Dr. Field using observation-centered method. As the author states, since children spoke mostly about their biological parents in the interview, one can conclude that they were reared by their own parents not the whole village. The author neglects to bring concrete evidence and ponder over details of both studies; thus, the argument is rife with wholes, fallacious assumptions and recommendation is refutable.

The first study was done twenty years ago by Dr. Field. If the author seeks to recommend or refuse any theories he should incisively compare the information of recent studies with past studies to validate theories’ credibility. Certainly the methods of research have revolutionized since 20 years ago and this fact makes the Dr. Field’s results fragile and possible to be misleading. Following that, the author needs to provide concrete evidence about the observations of Dr. Field. What did he exactly confront in the island that led him to think children were influenced by the whole village child-rising practices? May be Dr. Field had found sculptures, painting on the walls of caves or other monuments that revealed the fact that child-rising was not dependent on the biological parents only. Anthropologist ought to investigate on discovered items, books or stories regarding the culture of Tertian people to be able to estimate the real culture.

According the author’s argument, Dr. Karp has visited a group of islands including Tertia. It is immediately apparent that the author is recommending a solution for studies of a specific island according to the general gathered information for a group of islands. Moreover, the second approach of interview-centered is replete with unanswered queries. What types of the questions Dr. Karp used to ask from children? Did the questions specifically focus on the children’s parents or questions were from general topics? If the children answered questions using information that included their parents, Dr. Karp prediction is correct. However, asking questions about parents and neglecting the impact of other residents of village is totally biased and misleading.

Additionally, the argument is deprived of sufficient statistics and figures regarding the number of children who were participants of Dr. Karp study. The recommendation can be erroneous if Dr. Karp has interviewed few children of Tartia and mostly asked questions from children of other islands. In this case, the recommendation is applicable for studies of other 19 islands.

In summary, suggesting a solution to follow in anthropology that is a science full of mystery is not easy. Depending on the only results gained from two studies without pondering over their details may cause the conclusion to fall apart. Therefore, to make the argument more reliable, the author has to elucidate above-mentioned ambiguities.