The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville. “Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a ‘Shakespeare in the Park’ program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a ‘Free Plays in the Park’ program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. If we start a ‘Shakespeare in the Park’ program, we can predict that our profits will increase, too.”

The statement presents a recommendation from the marketing director of the classical Shakespeare theatre of Bardville to increase profits of theatre using a Shakespeare in the park program. As the author claims a program called free plays in the park was presented in the park by Avon Repertory Company two year ago which resulted in 10 percent increase of their profits. Based on this result, the marketing director of Bardville’s theatre assumes that they can increase their profit by attracting new audiences using a free program this summer. The recommendation may seem reasonable at first sight, but it is rife with unanswered questions and unexamined suppositions that make the recommendation untenable.

Firstly, a ten-year period is a long time to evaluate the profit of the theatre and numerous factors can affect the number of audiences during this time. As the author mentions, the size of the average audience has experienced a 20 percent decline, however, he does not mention the population change of the Bardville. Perhaps, the number of citizens of the Bardville region has decreased and consequently the number of audiences of the theatre declined. Therefore, the exact statistics and information regarding the number of audiences should be provided to evaluate the real percentage of decrease of audiences. Following that, the author claims that the theatre has increased the advertising but failed to attract new audiences. To further examine the results of advertisement, the author needs to mention the methods of advertising. It is possible that they use ads on the newspaper or some unpopular TV channels. Nowadays people use social media and internet more than anything. Thus, using ads on the websites could be a practical alternative solution which is neglected.

Secondly, alternative facts through these ten years have been totally disregarded. Maybe people’s taste has changed during this period and they prefer to watch new theatres with modern stories and a change of story for the theatre may result in profit instead of a free play in the park with the old story. Additionally, a theatre consists of a hall, scene, waiting rooms, café and etc. that may need rehabilitation after ten years. It is possible that the atmosphere and structure of the building of the theatre is not suitable and people avoid this place not because of the play but because of the place.

Thirdly, the author argues that Avon company was successful in gaining profit by presenting a free play program in the park, but he refuses to explain details of the program which caused its success. Perhaps the genre of the Avon company’s play is basically different and is entertaining for people to be presented in a park. However, people would not like to watch a Shakespeare play which is a classic play in a park. Moreover, the Avon company’s experiment belongs to two years ago and during these two year many things may have changed. Considering different situations in two years ago and current time for both theatres of Avon and Bradville, one cannot apply the method of Avon for Bradivlle and expects triumph.

To recapitulate, providing a free program may attract some audiences at the park but cannot guarantee the further profits of the company. If the author seeks to reach at the conclusion of considering a free play as useful, he should elucidate the above-mentioned ambiguities and provide concrete evidence to support the recommendation. Otherwise, the recommendation is not reliable and it may incur loss.