The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals. “In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. The explanation for the 20 percent reduction in patient infections is the use of UltraClean soap.”

The statement presents an explanation about current reduction in patient infections in the Worktown hospital from its director. As the director claims they have changed the regular-strength UltraClean hand soap with a new concentrated solution of extra strength. The author negligently believes that the reason of 20 percent reduction in patient infection is only changing the hand soap. However, he remiss multiple alternative explanations and possibilities that make the argument refutable.

The first major problem about the statement is that the author does not mention side effects of the new hand soap. Perhaps, the fact that it owns an extra strength formulation can cause irreparable effects on the skin by constant consumption. Additionally, if the author seeks to compare currently used hand soap in the hospitals with the new solution, he needs to provide enough information about the feature and quality of the currently used hand soap. It is possible that the hospital is using a type of hand soap that cannot satisfy sanitary standards so that the new product can reduce the harmful bacteria for about 40 percent greater than the currently used low-quality hand soap. Moreover, the price and brand of the current hand soap need to be clarified. Whether the brand is specifically producing hand soaps with high sanitary solutions for hospitals or it is a regular kind of soap for house usage should be determined to evaluate the explanation.

Another neglected explanation for the statement which is totally neglected by the author is the price of the soap. Perhaps, the hospital’s budget cannot afford a high-quality soap that led them to use a soap that is cheap but it is not suitable for using in a hospital. Furthermore, relying on the unexamined presumption that bacteria on the hand is the major source of infection is misleading. It is immediately evident that the majority of doctors and nurses use special gloves during the visits or surgery so the considering that the infections are only transferred via hands and providing a solution of using extra-strength soaps are imprudent.

Let us assume that the new solution of hand soap has contributed to reduction of patient infections in Worktown hospital. How the director can support his claim that the hospital owns this reduction to the new soap only? There are no available sufficient evidence regarding recent changes in the hospital. Perhaps, rules of regular cleaning of the building have changed and the whole area is free from bacteria. Also the author argues that no other hospital has reported such a reduction in infections. To make the explanation creditable and irrefutable, he should compare situations of the nurses, doctors and patients of the hospitals with each other. There is a possibility that people who visit the Worktown hospital obtain of a high level of public education regarding salubrious lifestyle.

To summarize, the reduction in patient infection may have caused by numerous sources which are missed by the author. As mentioned above, the director is required to ponder over the alternative explanations to discover real sources of this event. Relying on the one and only change of type of soap leads to a misleading result and makes the argument rife with holes.