The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of the Central Plaza reports a sharp fall in the number of shoppers in the recent two years, while the number of skateboard users has witnessed a sudden increase. Based on this comparison, the owner predicts that if the police impose restrictions for skateboarding in the Plaza, the business will be profitable again. Although the argument may seem reasonable at first sight, it contains several ambiguities that makes it untenable.

Firstly, the argument fails to provide statistics and information regarding the number of shoppers and number of skateboard users in the Central Plaza. As the owner mentions, there has been a decrease in the number of shoppers while the number of skateboard users experienced a dramatic increase. However, there is no data available about the percentages of rise and fall during these two years. Additionally, the author is required to consider the unanswered questions about the financial state of the citizens. Perhaps, the economy confronted a crisis that reduced the resident’s capability to shop as before. Therefore, the prediction of the owner would have been stronger had it discussed the economic situation of the people. If people are able to shop as two years age, restricting skateboard users rehabilitate the business of Central Plaza.

More significantly, the argument blames skateboard users of being responsible for the recent increase in vandalism and amount of litter all around the Plaza. However, the owner fails to bring justification for this claim that there are no other sources for this catastrophic event. He leaves many unanswered questions such as: Have ever the police arrest a skateboard user as a vandal? Does the surveillance control camera record a video to prove this allegation? If skateboard users are exculpated of this claim after the police investigation, the prediction falls apart since there would be still vandalism in the area.

Finally, the argument would have been stronger had it provide information about the competitors of the Plaza. Perhaps, there are several malls, shopping centers or stores as the same as Plaza in the neighborhood that people are using those stores instead of Plaza. It is possible that the market is so competitive that other stores are offering lower prices to customers that caused the business in the Plaza not to be profitable anymore. This important difference in prices may not only explain the recent reduction in number of shoppers, but also may refute the credibility of the prediction.

To recapitulate, the owner of the Central Plaza blames the proliferation of skateboard users as the source of recent profligate business of the Plaza. The suggestion of prohibiting skateboard users includes numerous unanswered questions and unexamined suppositions as mentioned above which presents the argument to be replete with holes.