Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today. Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Decision-making is from utmost importance in life of every single human being. To make a prudent decision, one needs to be aware of vicissitudes of current situation and avoid repeating prior mistakes. However, some people believe that knowing about the past has no effect on making current important decisions since making a connection between current events and past events is not possible unless time passes and a distance from both is created. Although making connections between current may require time, I disagree with the statement. The essential ability of human being is to make wise decisions at right time according to past experiences.

First and foremost, the main reason of reading historical books, passing history courses at school and listening to ancestral stories is about gaining experiences. Not only learning about past amuses us and can be considered as a hobby, but also this type of learning contributes to increasing our knowledge about various situations of life. For example, studying about Iranian history reveals that Iranian kings were puissant and sage but they lost their vast territory because of trivial mistakes of trusting miscreants. With this in mind, current officials may consider those past stories as paradigm and eschew repeating their mistakes.

Following that, making connection between events when the acting moment has elapsed is profligate. Knowing that the majority of decision-making situations require instant action and finding pragmatic solutions, one cannot waste time on hesitation. Therefore, managers and people who has high-level responsibilities should be well-prepared to examine weak points of current situations according to their experience and past people experiences. Then, they need to evaluate available solutions and select the most efficient and appropriate one.

On the contrary, when time passes people will understand the efficacy of their actions better since they can review the results and compare them with each other to see which solution ended up more practical. Additionally, looking at the past enables us to make connections between our recent decisions and past decisions. If there is any relation between our actions, we would notice them after the events are over. The only reason of this fact lies in that when dealing with an event we are obsessed with florid details of the event that distract us from focusing on finding suitable decision according to past experiences.