Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today. Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

People have been found perplexing over the past incidents to elicit at least somewhat essential to be linked to the current situations to make unerring decisions for themselves. Ideally, one cannot just ignore the facts from the past while taking decisions in present situations, but one cannot always link them with the current or futuristic events, which might take some new dimensions to resolve. The prompt here suggests that, knowing the facts from the past, not necessarily they must be perfectly epitome to the situation, precludes one to make decisions in current situations unless one has some kind of urbane connection between the past and present situations that is being implied on him. I strongly disagree to this claim that connection is a must for taking decisions for two reasons.

To begin with, past experiences have been the boon, though bane at times, in taking decisions for the current situations. This allows one to actually gather information, however linked to them or not, and implicate to the current situations. Furthermore, efficacy comes with experience to some extent- which means experiences from the extrapolation from the past events make one urbane which helps him make decisions. For example, a colonel of the army might not have the chance to participate in the wartime situations, but he might be able to extract some valuable information from the past wars to actually use them on the current dilapidated situations. The above example illustrates the importance of past events to make decisions for the present events such as being urbane and empirical without the particiaption in both events might help one make perfect decisions.

Secondly, it is not exacting to take part in both situations to actually make an essential decision rather it's good to be efficient in a way that is unprecedented to one so that he or she can make decisions. One era's zeitgeist is different from the other one's era, and this signfies the importance of past events so that one can extract data from that and utilize on the present, somewhat related, situations. For example, Nuclear mishaps have been very intimidating from the 1980s through 2000s, and this has led us to many precautionary measures to actually prevent them beforehand. Disasters then were unprecedented to all are now a simple thing to prevent just because the past experiences. This aforementioned example states that, one might not have a distance from both the events, but one can prevent some presentiments by applying the esoteric knowledge, which he or she gained through linking the past and present events whilst not particiapting in both.

One might argue that one should not take any decisions in current events if he does not have any experience in past similar events. But, is not that why we have a saying that goes "Everything has a beginning." Sometimes, the situation demands some pristine solution to the problems and, for that reason, an extraction from the past might be a helping hand to solve the problem provided that the events must be germane to each other. To sum up, One can make decisions about the present scenario to some extent, if he or she has some kind of germane knowledge about the then-problems form the past.