The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States Only about 2 percent of customers have com

The business manager of Happy Pancake House, in his memorandum states that to save cost of purchasing butter and increase the profitability, butter should be replaced by margarine in the southeast and northeast. The manager has arrived at this conclusion based on the set of responses the restaurant received in the southwest, where apparently a large fraction of customers have ‘not complained’ about the replacement. However, in order to check how correctly this judgment extrapolates to the current scenario, it is essential to answer the aforementioned questions.

Firstly, the memorandum mentions that ‘only’ 2% of the people have complained about the supplantation of butter with margarine. However, it does not necessarily imply that the rest 98% of the people are actually happy and satisfied with this change. What if the other 98% of the people are actually dissatisfied but refrain from launching a complaint since it’s a tedious process. The people who have not complained about the issue should not be confused with those who are actually elated with the change. If such deceptive statistics as mentioned in the above example are used to arrive at a conclusion, it may lead to premature results.

Secondly, even if we assume the question mentioned in the above paragraph to be true, are the food choices in the southwestern United States the same as their southeastern and northeastern counterparts? What if the people in southwestern United States actually have a liking to margarine but the northeastern people actually love butter? It could be argued that what if the people in northeastern and southeastern United States are actually intolerant to margarine consumption? Extrapolating the results from two distinct regions could actually prove to be risky in the long term and could affect business profits.

Lastly, if the replacement of butter with margarine is a panacea that could transcend profit, why are not the competitors doing the same? For instance, what if the competitors actually shift to margarine instead of butter? Do the restaurant owners actually have enough resources or sufficient margarine production to support the 3 outlets? Even if there are actually sufficient resources, are they lucrative enough to survive in the competitive market? If you assume this to be true and replace the use of butter, it could lead to the burnout of margarine resources or even cause the profits from all the stores collectively to soar. It is, however, always advised not to put all your ‘eggs’ in one basket.

Thus, to arrive at an accurate judgment based on the evidence provided above, we need more expanded statistics and scientific research that could actually prove that there is a correlation between the various outlets of the restaurant. This could help extrapolate the decision based on the performance in a single outlet, if there is actually a dependency that proves so. Therefore, once these questions are addressed it could become far simpler and more rewarding to take a major supplanting decision.