Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them

It is often said, one needs to step out of his/her comfort zone in order to succeed in life. Even when the path of life is tough, it is often the tenacity and resoluteness of a person that helps him battle adverse situations. The prompt suggests that leaders are often created by the situationships and demands that are placed on them. I strongly agree with the message being conveyed by the prompt, predominantly because of the following 2 reasons.

Firstly, history has proven that often the best leaders and visionaries have had to encounter struggles in their lives, especially in the initial phases. Such encounters are bound to instill tenacity & leadership skills in the person as he encounters hardships in every phase of life. For instance, one of the most influential men in history, Nelson Mandela had a really tough childhood with meager resources & hardships. Yet, it was only these situationships that carved out the revolutionary man he had become later. In addition to this, Mahatma Gandhi encountered serious problems like racism, poverty & overcame them, thus becoming a prominent figure in India’s freedom struggle. Over the years, we find various other examples that could be used to extrapolate that the leaders and visionaries have often encountered & battled seriously tough problems throughout their entire course of life.

Furthermore, the luxurious lives of Billionaires often conceals the struggle & hardships they may have battled throughout their childhood. It is a result of continuous determination and resoluteness that these people have succeeded in life. For example, the founder of multi million dollar company Google, Larry Page started the company in his backyard. Who would’ve imagined that the headlines from that garage would echo in the minds of perceptually everyone in the world. Many success stories often prove that humble beginnings & a strong will power are the perfect recipe for achieving one’s goals. Is this the shortest path? No. This might be the longest of all paths, but ensures that one's reality converges to his dreams. There may not be a fixed recipe in order to achieve success in life, but it is often found that the revolutionaries have always overcome problems in every fold of life, that makes them the person they are today.

Some people may argue that people who have inherited money or wisdom from their forefathers as an anomaly. But if you think about that in retrospect, you would only find that there must’ve been someone in the hierarchy that would’ve combated the problems in their lives in order to build a dynasty that their successors have had inherited. Thus, the demands & challenges one faces in every phase of life, not only add to his experience but also broaden one's learning curve.