The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company s president In an effort to improve our employees productivity we should implement electronic monitoring of employees Internet use from their wor

The Vice President for Human Resources at Climpton Industries wants to implement the monitoring of employees’ Internet usage from their work devices. His assertion is based on the evidence that monitoring an employees’ internet usage is the best way to ‘improve’ the time efficiency of the employee and ensure a better work ethic at Climpson. The Vice President feels that doing so would improve their overall profits. However, I strictly disagree with his assertion, primarily because it is reliant on the aforementioned unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, is there any established correlation between an employees’ productivity & his internet usage for activities like shopping or playing games? Perhaps, what if playing games or scrolling through a shopping website helps them take a detox from their work stress and actually benefits the organization? It has been scientifically proven that perhaps, taking a stroll or reading an article or even playing a mini-game could actually help to ensure the mind’s balance thus bolstering its overall productivity. Also, imposition of principles that collect such data could also agitate the employees since they may find this unethical and may be harbored in their employee rights.

Secondly, the Vice president has asserted that by preventing employees from wasting time would effectively improve the work ethics of the organization and also increase their overall profits. It needs to be recognized whether there exists an established dependency between the employees time efficiency and the company’s overall profits. What if the organization has its revenue and profits completely independent of such data? What if the profits increase for one quarter and decrease for the next? It would be tough to rollback to the current state and change such guidelines every now & then.

Lastly, can the organization evade the attempts made by humans to safeguard ‘their’ rights? The prompt mentions that the company would offer an imposition on the employees’ work devices. What if the employee actually uses his/her personal device or internet connection to play games? You simply cannot impose a restriction on his/her activities in such a case. Perhaps what if it is the employees’ child who ends up playing a game instead of his/her parents? In such a scenario, the imposition of such guidelines would be anomalous to the expected outcome.

Some people however may say that time efficiency could be attributed as the primary factor to judge the overall productivity of a person. But, they simply end up ignoring the underlying assumption that the employees’ are humans and not machines that could be programmed to work in a synchronous manner. Thus, it is important to understand that as humans, we have our own limitations and we may find several ways to overcome them. Therefore, there needs to be more scientifically backed evidence that would support the existence of such a phenomenon where the employees’ internet activity would lead to better profitability for the organization.