The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this recommendation by the vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries, the author argues that they should implement electronic monitoring of employees’ Internet use from their workstations to improve their employees’ productivity. Because the time employee spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games can reduce the number of hours to focus on the works. This assertion seems to be valid at first, but it relies on some unwarranted assumptions.

First of all, to argue that they should censor their employees’ Internet use at workstations to increase employee productivity, they need to prove the casual relationship between the time to work at the workplace and employees’ productivity. According to the recent study, the 4 days worktime in week improved the productivity of company, not 5 days, the normal time to work. Sufficient time to rest would bring higher productivity of work. Common sense says that human cannot focus in long time. Instead of holding things to work, taking a rest properly can help us focus our work better and increase our effectiveness.

Second, if they implement electronic monitoring of employees’ Internet use by installing software to detect employees’ Internet use on company computer, can it encumber employees’ spending on personal or recreational activities? Most people have smartphone these days and they can use Internet by their phone as they want to use them, not using their computer in workplace. Employee might take a rest without using Internet if the policy is implemented. Seeing how they use Internet would not affect to reduce their rest time at work hours.

Finally, the way to improve employees’ productivity the author suggested is not considering employees’ private life and can reduce employees’ trust to the company. If the company’s president decides to implement this policy, many employee of the company could resist the policy. Also, many employees might be disappointed because the fact that the company would watch their trivial behavior, and there might be some employees to quit the job.

In sum, to improve employees’ productivity, the author need to show more information to prove his argument valid and think about the more effective way, such as incentives.