The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria.

"Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since beaches and buildings in the area will be preserved, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this letter, the author asserts that the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria should charge people for using the beaches to use the money they will get to prevent beach sand along the shores of Tria Island eroded. The author also argues that they should replenish the sand as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia. The author said that if beaches and building in the area will be preserved, Tria’s tourist industry will improve over the long term. These arguments seems valid at first, but we can find many flaws easily.

First, the author asserts that they need to charge people due to saving the beach sand and raising the money to keep the beach. However, the author overlooked the possibilities that charging people could bring more significant backfire. If they charge people who use the beaches, erosion of beach would decrease at first. But people might mind to go the beach due to expensive fee of entering the beach, thereby decreasing number of tourists may be critical threat to their island and their tourist industry.

Second, the author assumes that replenishing the sand could make positive effect to protect buildings along their shores as was done on Batia. However, evidence is needed to prove that it can bring the same effect in Tria. Tria and Batia might have different characters. They might have different geographical character and different heights of buildings, and different degree of be able to protect severe storms of each building. If the author proves the effect, he should more evidence that the comparison has been done in same condition.

Third, the author asserts that if beaches and buildings in the area are preserved, Tria’s tourist industry will improve over the long term. However, how can we assert this without considering other factors that can affect improvement of tourist industry of Tria? There are many factors that can make effects to improvement of tourist industry like economic situation, quality of services, weather and so on. If the author would like to increase profits in tourist industry, the author should look more aspects.