Some cities have made it a rule that teachers will give primary students (aged 5-10) no more than 30 minutes of homework per night because students get enough instruction during the regular school day. (Do you Agree or Disagree with this rule?)

The proper amount of time to study is always an interesting issue among people involved in the educational field, parents, and students. There are many kinds of research to find the proper time of education program or class. It can be different according to situations. In primary education situation, I think that 30 minutes of homework per night is the proper amount. Plus, it can be restricted by the form of rule.

To begin with, primary students aged 5-10 are in a period that they need more extracurricular activities and time with their family. In other words, other activities that are not relevant to the regular school curriculum directly are the crucial parts for them. They need to explore their interest and make bonds with their family and friends. In my case, when I was the first grade in elementary school, I did not receive any homework that takes 30 minutes over. In retrospect, I could spend a lot of time hanging out with family and friends and do something interest at that time due to my free time. And I think it was beneficial for me to make bonds with others and find my interest. It helps me to do something I like in their strong supports.

Second, as young children begin school, the focus should be on cultivating a love of learning, and assigning too much homework can undermine that goal. According to one research, when a teacher gave young children who are second-grade students homework, she fell that the benefits of homework were too small, and it did not outweigh the potential drawback for turning young children against the school at an early age. So she experimented with dropping mandatory homework. Surprisingly, students started doing more work at home. This inspiring group of 8-year-olds used their newfound free time to explore subjects and topics of interest to them.

To sum up, forcing students aged 5-10 to study more 30 minutes of homework per day is not beneficial and it should be prohibited. Too much homework can make children turn off school and be not interested in school. Children aged 5-10 years need more time to hang out with their family and friends and find something fun and do it freely.