The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company s president In an effort to improve our employees productivity we should implement electronic monitoring of employees Internet use from their wor

The vice president claims that by installing the electronic internet monitoring systems, will result in preventing employees from wasting time and thereby improve overall profits and foster a better work ethic at Climpson. However, these assumptions made by vice president is highly presumptuous and before evaluating the argument the following three assumptions of the argument should be addressed.

To begin with, the vice president assumes that by monitoring the internet use from their workstation by their employees will foster a better work ethic. In a pragmatic scenario, ironically if the employees were to be punished due to their use of internet there could have an adverse effect on the work culture at Climpson, thus instead of promulgating a better work ethic this could result in denigrating it. Moreover, if the employee were to use the Internet from their workstation for some official work, it would be difficult to determine which employee used internet for work and which did not. Thus there the vice president should be more explicit in explaining the electronic internet monitoring systems.

Secondly, by installing internet monitoring systems does not prove that the employees will not waste their time. Although monitoring the internet consumption could help, but the time wasted in the offline activities is not monitored. Perhaps, the employee’s productivity is directly proportional to the mental relief. By monitoring the internet usage, limiting the number of hours spent on personal or recreational activities, could negatively affect the mental health thereby reducing the overall productivity. If these scenarios hold true, it significantly undermines the argument proposed by the vice president.

Lastly, the assumption that the overall profits is directly proportional to the increase in the number of the working hours, is highly presumptuous statement. The profit of the company dependents of various factors other than increase in the number of working hours, such as the overall business model of the company, the infrastructure of the financial accountants and more. Thus the assumptions considered by the vice president will not hold water if these scenarios hold true.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its severe dependence in various unwarranted assumptions. If the vice president is able to address these assumption and provide evidence ( perhaps in terms of a systematic research analysis), then it is possible to fully evaluate the viability of the conclusion provided by the vice president.