Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is debatable whether scandals can be helpful since they focus people's attention on issues differently than any speaker or reformer ever could. Although there are some merits to debunking reality in a form of scandals, scandals on their own do not reap much merits in solving problems.

To begin with, a lot of scandals, especially scandals related to entertainers such as actors, singers, and comedians, are strategically exploited to conceal bigger issues usually related to politics and law. Sex scandals, marriage and divorce scandals, all alike forcefully gravitate people's attention; at the same time, political fraudulence is forgotten and new laws are being passed. Politicians and law makers often work with media and magazines to underscore what is relatively petty and private to cover issues that actually have impacts on people's everyday lives. In this case, scandals are only used and abused to shift people's attention on wrong problems, which means they are not giving any better information that former speakers and reformers have provided.

Furthermore, generally, without the aid of speakers and reformers, just scandals themselves can only do so much about a certain problem. Scandals surely is an effective means to trigger and galvanize people; however, tangible transformation occurs only with actions, and actions led by speakers and reformers like media and activists. There needs a leader who can push through all of the logistical process for a change to occur. Despite scandals' remarkable talent of attracting people's focus, scandals have strict limitations in the whole problem-solving process. In fact, that first part can be done with speakers and reformers, probably in a more healthy and practical way without harming innocent people.

Admittedly, scandals can be useful because they can surely attack different aspects of a problem; nevertheless, people often times abuse this feature of a scandal for their own good. Also, scandals have a high likelihood of shifting our focus on what is more provocative and sensitive than what is actually important and integral to the issue. Take South Korea's protest as an example. Citizens of South Korea are protesting against president Park for her to resign after huge political scandals. Nonetheless, her resignation is only a marginal issue and not the real solution to the problem. However, since scandals are only revealing her misconduct, people are missing that the entire system is corrupt, and that system will hardly change even after her resignation.

All in all, because of aforementioned reasons, scandals are not always useful and more helpful than actions and words of speakers and reformers. If being used, scandals would have to be plotted properly in order to avoid any misinterpretation and abuse. Nevertheless, the speakers and reformers are always integral parts of solving or making people aware of certain problems.