The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of an editorial in a business magazine contends that the sales of Whirldwind video games have great likelihood to increase drastically in the next few months. The author cites a recent survey of video-game players, and lists plans to tackle the issue. However, the author's claim is based on unsubstantiated assumptions.

First, the author assumes modifying the company's products according to the results of a recent survey of video-game players. However, it is entirely possible that those respondents are far from being the potential customers. Participants of a survey might reside overseas, or the survey might have taken from a different culture, which might not be applicable to the region that Whirlwind is targeting. Therefore, without providing more evidence regarding this issue, it is far-fetched to conjecture that the recent survey would be helpful in estimating future profits of the company.

Second, even if the recent survey turns out to be valid, the author supposes that two years decline of the company's sales will be resolved after introducing state-of-the-art graphics and computers. Nevertheless, there is a high potential that decline of the company's sales is due to other factors such as unreasonably high pricing, failed marketing tactics, or poor management. Unless those factors are remedied, it is hard to expect drastic change in sales of Whirlwind. The author further assumes that past poor advertising has contributed to the decline, but the author fails to suggest any evidence about this. Without clearly providing causes and how to tackle those causes, the author's claim will remain unconvincing.

Third, the author supposes that if the products of the company come out mainly targeting ten to twenty-five years old people, there will be an increase in profits of the company. Nonetheless, the author gives no evidence to support this assumption. Also, it is not evident that the sales will go up since people in that age range perhaps will have more difficult time purchasing game products that are too pricey. Merely liking the products does not necessarily lead to increase in sales. Plus, competing companies might produce games with similar features at an affordable price, which will steal customers. The author has to effectively rule out these possibilities in order to bolster the argument.

Lastly, the author assumes that with all of those modifications, the sales of Whirlwind video games will increase in the next few months. However, this prediction is unsound. Although the company's video games might be a hit, but not necessarily in the next few months. Additionally, game market could be highly seasonal, and if the next few months is the dark season, it is difficult to expect dramatic increase of the sales of the company. In addition, even if the author's estimation turns out to be right and the products hit in the next few months, the sales could drop drastically after that few months, thus making the company to go through another season of severe decline in sales.

All in all, because of aforementioned reasons, the author's contention is gratuitous. The author needs to provide more evidence regarding the issue after careful investigation and research of all of the possible variables that affect the sales of Whirlwind video game.