Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is debatable whether a lot of problems in this day and age is not resolved by laws and the legal system since people's minds are immutable by laws. Although this claim seems axiomatic, vice versa is more frequently observed in modern society.

To begin with, it is evident that laws and the legal system prevent a myriad of problems of present days. Punishments and penalties foster people to transform their thoughts in a way that is more conducive to creating a better society. From little incidents as parking ticket to serious illicit acts as murder and kidnap, people monitor their thoughts and constrain their acts. It is natural for a human being to want to murder someone out of deep hatred and revenge purpose, but laws preclude a lot of crimes because people do not want to pay for their misdemeanor, and laws and legal systems clearly state that detriments will be imposed on outlaws. Laws and the legal systems are one of the most effective means to keep people from going against their conscientious and morality.

Moreover, passing of a law actually does change people's perspectives with the inherent authoritative power the law possesses. Women's suffrage and gay marriage, once deemed almost as a taboo or maladaptive culture, received new identity after the passing of the laws contingent to them. Through transformation of the legal system, people of unspoken became able to raise their voices with much less fear; in fact, those people influence heavily upon current societies to be more open and free to discuss what was under harsh criticism, or oppression. Modification of laws have evidently changed people's minds in ways that are helpful in amelioration of a society.

Admittedly, laws and legal systems can look rigid and are of no help in advancing modern sociey. However, this is a very narrow-minded view that only focuses what is on the surface level such as punishments and penalties. Laws may not change humans's most instinct and innate vile, but legal systems do their jobs in modifyin people's hearts to be more adaptive and healthy; without them, the societies will become chaotic.

All in all, I disagree with the given statement because of the aforementioned reasons. A lot of rights that are taken for granted are solidly protected by laws and legal systems. Undermining their roles is underestimating what human's natural selfish desires and vicious hearts can bring about. Laws are changing our hearts sufficiently so that our immoral hearts not revealed completely, which would have made current societies into a complete chaos.