The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee-a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company seems axiomatic. The personnel director refers to examples of other companies and graduates that supposedly benefited from the course. Also, the personnel director contends that Acme Publishing Company will receive similar benefits after requiring the course to all of the company's employees. However, the argument is unsubstantiated because of several reasons.

First, the personnel director fails to provide evidence about whether all of the employees would benefit from the course. The author cites two individuals as an example, but two as a sample size is too small to be generalized. In fact, those two successful people might have already been bright people even before taking the course, thus learning little to nothing from the course. In that case, taking the Easy Read Speed-Readin program contributed little to their excellence, if not waste of time. Moreover, even if those two individuals were greatly aided by the reading program, such reading ability might not be helpful to every employee of Acme company. While some employees are heavily engaged in reading materials, some other employees might not engage in reading during their everyday working life; those employees might be more involved in computers or printing machines. Therefore, the author's recommendation that all employees will benefit from the reading program is dubious with the given evidence.

Second, the personnel director false equates the conditions of many other companies with the conditions of Acme Publishing Company. It is entirely possible that for other firms, speed is the most important factor in working, and minor mistakes are considered negligible. However, accuracy may be far more integral than punctuality for Acme company since the materials the firm deals with are impacted more greatly by even small mistakes. Also, for other companies, spending company money on individual employees may not be a big of a deal, but it could be a huge burden for Acme company. Without effectively ruling out every possible variables, the author cannot assume that conditions of other companies will be similar to conditions of Acme Publishing Company. Thereby, the personnel director need to provide evidence showing that same will apply to Acme Company in order to bolster the claim.

Third evidence the personnel director is required to provide is if benefits from the reading course will outweigh the cost. $500 is a lot of money especially if multiplied by a big number. Nevertheless, there is no exhaustive investigation on cost and benefit. In fact, purchasing faster printing machine might be more conducive to increasing efficiency with minimal cost. Furthermore, even if it turns out that benefit overrides the cost, the author needs to consider turn-over rate of the company; if the company's turn-over rate is high, taking the program will only help competing companies after employees' resignation. Thus, more evidence is needed to manifest that revenue will outweigh expenditure to buttress the argument.

All in all, because of aforementioned reasons, the personnel director's recommendation is not convincing. To strengthen the assertion, the personel director should give more evidence based on detailed observation and investigation.