The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Environmental problems engendered by consumer-generated waste impinge huge detriments in this day and age; therefore, debates to decide what is the best way to resolve the problem is emerging. Here, the author contends that the optimal means to solve the issue is for towns and cities to set strict limits on the amount of waste from each household. While this argument sounds axiomatic to some extent, there are some flaws to the claim.

To begin with, there is a high possibility that the given plan will fail. It might work only theoretically, but it seems rather dubious in reality since there are so many loopholes to this plan, thereby enabling citizens to cheat easily. It is foreseeable that people will bring the trash out of their household and dispose their trash in other places if strict limit is set. There is no plan mentioned to watch every household to prevent them from cheating, and it is simply impossible to do so. If so, the new policy will not result in reducing the total amount of trash, which also results in failing to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated trash. Also, citizens might dispose their trash on streets and public spaces, which will yield more problems.

Second, the stated solution can hardly be the best one since it might become more vice than virtue. A lot of decisions have to made, which includes the exact limit of the trash, the extent of time period of disposal, and whom to monitor the program. There is no definite criterion on which the decision can rely on; also, cities have to hire more employees to monitor and manage the new program which will ask citizens to pay more taxes. In this case, environmental problems mediated by consumer-generated waste might be solved, but new problems will occur which in turn defeats the purpose. It might be better to come up with a solution that has higher possibility of automation.

Lastly, such restrictions will impact people differently depending on their social economic status. More opulent people will have more access to products that are technologically devised to generate less waste. Moreover, more affluent people are able to eat out more, hire trash service, and go on a vacation to limit their household trash, which implies discrimination and unfairness of the program. Therefore, the suggested policy cannot be taken as the best soluton to environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste.

All in all, among all those ways to handle the problem of ever increasing amount of consumer-generated waste, the suggested solution is not the best one because of aforementioned reasons. There is a dire need to seek for the new optimal solution to the issue.