The following appeared in the editorial column of the Fern County Gazette newspaper:

"The Fern County Council made the right decision when it unanimously voted to convert the Northside branch of the county library system into a computer-skills training facility for public use. The converted facility will fill what is certain, based on national trends, to be a growing need among county residents for training in computer skills. And since our library system boasts more volumes per resident than any other system in the state, the remaining branches will adequately serve the future needs of Fern County residents."

Discuss what evidence you would need to properly evaluate the argument, and explain how that evidence might strengthen or weaken the argument.

The statement written on the Fern County Gazette newspaper seems axiomatic. It contends that the Fern County Council's decision to convert the county library system into a space for training computer skills open to public. In order to bolster the argument, the author of the column cites the unanimous votes, growing need for computer system, and current volume of the county's library system. However, there needs more evidence to effectively support the claim.

First, the author should provide more evidence regarding the unanimous vote that the decision was based on. Through the presented portion of the writing, it is difficult to determine if the voters' opinions are able to represent the idea of the entire county. Also, it is not mentioned if the people of the Fern County agreed upon making a decision based on the results of voting. If it turns out that people who participated in voting cannot fully represent the whole population of the county, the author's reasoning will be far-fetched. Additionally, if it turns out that more people disagreed upon the results of the vot, the author's argument remains weakly constructed.

Moreover, to support the argument, the author indicates the national trends of growing need for computer training. Nevertheless, the author fails to recognize that it is a trend, which means it is not a fixed, everlasting truth. With the current situation, the author can at best predict and imagine the future trend. In addition, even if the trend continues for a while, people might choose to receive training through other sources instead of going to the facility physically. Therefore, the author needs to give more evidence to prove his claim to be valid.

Furthermore, it is far-fetched for the author to assume that the Fern County will inevitably follow the national trend. It could be that the county is for people who retired, thus a majority being elderly people. If that is the case, it is required for the author to give further evidence if the town's trend reflects the national trend.

Lastly, the author's claim is based on a reason that there are more library system volumes per resident than any other systems in the state. The author continues to argue that the relatively large volume guarantees the needs for the future residents. Nevertheless, the author only gives relative amount, not the exact amount. The author needs to investigate if the exact amount is enough to meet the needs of current and future residents. Without further research, the author's contention is not valid.

All in all, because of aforementioned reasons, the author's claim is not sound. The author should provide more evidence through further intensive research to strengthen the assertion.