The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

It is debatable whether the luxuries and conveniences of modern days work as a blockage for people to become strong and independent individuals. Although there are some drawbacks regarding comfort yielded by high technology of current life, the luxuries and conveniences are conducive to individuals to form unique identities.

To begin with, conveniences provide more resources for people to formulate their distinct thoughts and become strong individuals. In the past where there were not enough devices for people to access different news and literatures, it was extremely difficult for people to create their own objective opinions because they could only gather information from one or two sources. Nowadays, with the advent of internet and globalization, people are able to garner immense amount of information, thus forming objective ideas and having their own decisions in life. Had there been no development, and societies were still stagnant in the past days without luxuries and conveniences, there would have been little to no betterment of society by strong and independent individuals. It is through flowing information through high technology that enabled people to become more active in social issues and injustice.

Furthermore, luxuries and conveniences in these days aid societies to nurture more distinct and strong individuals. Through luxuries of modern days such as automobiles and computers, people spend less time in doing unnecessary time consuming works; transportation time and communication time is reduced. The change provided more time for people to deal with highly complicated tasks, which gives higher motivation for people to excel in their fields and develop into strong and independent individuals. Without the metamorphosis, people in modern days would still waster a lot of time in unfruitful tasks and lose opportunities to encounter more meaningful works.

Admittedly, the luxuries and conveniences could engender more desires and materialistic thoughts; however, there are still more pros than cons. Also, being engrossed into comforts given by conveniences and becoming a passive individual are more due to individuals' lack or willpower or ability to self-control their desires. Thus, the argument that contends the luxuries and conveniences of modern life prevent people from becoming more independent is not cogent.

All in all, comforts of current days do not serve as a hindrance for people to develop into strong and independent individuals. Conveniences provide more resources and time for people to focus on more intricate tasks and thoughts that are highly conducive to becoming individuals with unique qualities.