Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives. Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

It is debatable whether political leaders should yield to public opinion or adhere to their own principles. Although it is crucial for a government official to be able to listen to their people, it is more important for them to abide by their own beliefs in order to have maximum achievement.

To begin with, political leaders should take bold approaches with far-sighted vision to ameliorate their societies. Leaders, especially the ones in politics, are proven to possess greater abilities than any other ordinary people. They ought to cleave to their principles if those principles will be conducive to long term betterment of a society. The former South Korean president, Roh Moo-Hyun for example, showed adamant commitment to his beliefs which eventually brought positive effects. When he was the president, there was a lethal epidemic named SARS that assumed to have originated from China. President Roh believed that prevention is the best way to combat the disease, so there was a thorough containment of SARS nationwide. Some people, however, were against his decision, arguing that the president should focus on other more grave issues, not just on a spread of disease. Nevertheless, president Roh adhered to his principles and there was no casualties regarding SARS in the nation, and his tactics are still inspiring until today.

Moreover, political leaders should not compromise to public opinion for the sake of immediate change. It is an indispensable characteristic for a political leader to be patient and long sighted. People, many times, only think of their own benefits, thus focusing on trees. Leaders, however, should be able to focus on the forest. Nelson Mandela, who was a South African activist and former president of South Africa, cogently bolsters the argument. Mandela's greatest feat is that he brought an end to apartheid and established equality. What is more admirable is that he adhered to peaceful protests because he believed that such means is the most effective way to achieve his goal. Many people asserted that his tactic should be more aggressive in order to attain his goal faster. Nonetheless, Mandela did not yield to public opinions about aggressive protests, and his method eventually became a very admirable one with minimum damage.

Admittedly, listening to public opinion is imperative for public servants as well. Nevertheless, meeting curent needs of the public will not take a society to the next level. Political leaders should have long-term vision and plans even though some of the details do not meet current needs of the public in order to engender betterment.

All in all, because of aforementioned reasons, government officials should be committed to their own principles instead of listening excessively to public opinions.