The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is debatable whether the greatness of individuals can only be determined by their descendents rather than by people lived in the same period. I suggest to surpass the limited view since the greatness of individuals can either be recognized by descendents or contemporaries; in some cases, both.

To begin with, contrary to what the given statement is arguing, the greatness of people, in fact, can be evaluated by their contemporaries. This is especially true in this day and age with the radical development of technology. These days, it became so much easier for one to promote oneself through social media. Take Michelle Phan, a successful CEO of a cosmetics company, Youtuber, and a beauty blogger as an example. She started her career as a blogger and Youtuber via promoting herself on the internet through her personal channels and websites. She instantly drew tens of thousands of people, which later enabled her to grow big enough to launch her own brand. All these was possible because a myriad of people saw her value and excellence.

On the other hand, there instances where one's greatness is acknowledged by those who lived after the individual. This seems to happen more frequently in arts field. Picasso, El Greco, and many renowned artists' pieces are highly after their death. 16th century aritist, El Greco, especially, was not following what was mainstream in his time, thus being harshly criticized for his works. However, his work influenced 20th century charismatic arts movement; he was lauded by his descendants. The prices of pieces rose exponentially as time passed by. This shows that the greatness of an individual can be assessed by those who lived after that individual.

Lastly, one can be venerated by both their contemporaries and descendents. Nelson Mandela, a social activist, who ended an apartheid in South Africa, had a lot of followers when he was alive, and he is still commemorated by people in this day and age. His feats and accomplishments were that great of an impact, which moved people's heart regardless of time frame.

All in all, measurement of people's greatness is irrelevant to a specific time frame. They can be recognized by their contemporaries, descendents, or both. Therefore, the given statement is a very limited perspective where in actuality, celebration is not contingent to a specific timing.