An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author suggests that lavender could work as a remedy for insomnia of which efficacy shows within a short period of time. The author cites a recent study to prove the argument. However, the author fails to provide sufficient evidences to support the claim.

First, the author does not provide information if those 30 volunteers participated in a recent study could fully represent the entire population. The sample size is too small to effectively draw conclusion of the whole population. The author needs to provide a study conducted with increased sample size. Also, there is no data of demographics of those subjects and if the study participants were selected through random assignment according to their demographic data. The author needs to show more information regarding how those volunteers were gathered, which could either strengthen or weaken the argument.

Second evidence that needs to be provided is the degree of resemblance of the controlled setting to environments elsewhere. What worked in a controlled room could not necessarily so in other settings such as a real bedroom. Particular settings in that controlled room could have facilitated the positive outcome on participants. There is a possibility that participants' insomnia was improved owing to other confounding variables, not lavender. It could be differences in room temperature, weather, presence of bugs, and lighting that affected largely on those volunteers' sleep quality. The author has to provide information of which the controlled setting accurately mimics conditions of other rooms in reality in order to strengthen the claim.

Third, the author has to give further information regarding the study subjects' responses. Even if the electronic device proves to be efficacious, the participants' sleep quality and tiredness are also dependent on their responses. Thus, evaluation of the objectiveness of those responses is required since their answers could be out of placebo effect. Without the evidence of how objective those responses are, reliability of those answers will remain questionable.

Lastly, information of effects after the study is required. The study is only conducted for three weeks, which is relatively a short time span. The author needs to provide information of changes on participants after the study to prove the effectiveness of lavender in enhancing sleep quality. Data of the future response needs to be garnered. Also, the duration of the positive effect of lavender pillow needs to be provided for accurate assessment. Without giving further information of participants after the study, the author cannot draw substantial conclusion if lavender can cure insomnia.

In sum, aforementioned evidences should be provided for the author to strengthen the claim that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time. Without providing further evidences, the author's arguments will remain far-fetched. Accurate evaluation will be available only after considering detailed evidences.