It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is debatable whether people define themselves primarily through their identification with social groups. As humans are social animal, and since people are almost always surrounded by other people and makings of other people, it is natural for most people to describe themselves regarding their observation from social groups.

To begin with, inevitably, people define themselves through identification with social groups they belong to. There are generally more than two groups that people belong to: family, school, gender, religion, field of vocation, and so on. As easily and most commonly seen is people's last name, which usually comes from their ancestors. People shape and mold their values, thoughts, goals according to their family culture. Moreover, even in religions, people find and choose their actions and behaviors regarding their religions and mimic people in their religious meetings. This goes similar with schools people attend, gender, and jobs each person has. People usually follow and accept the objectives of social groups they belong to.

Furthermore, defining oneself can occur with one's identification with social groups they are not member of. Different gender/sex, different religion, country, and culture can tell people of what they are and help contemplate about themselves. In terms of sex, if one person is not a male, then that person will be a female, thus identifying with female groups. Also, through observing different country and culture, one can define oneself to be not one of them, which enables an individual to gain a better picture of oneself. Sometimes, looking at what one is not helps them to mold their identity.

Additionally, people's thoughts of themselves transforms as their social groups change with age and experience. People in their 50s will have a difficult time sympathizing with teenagers because their lives look drastically different from each other. Often times, struggles and types of experiences change with age, thus, making people to change their definition of themselves. People in their 50s were once a teenager as well; however, different life styles have transformed their minds and thoughts, so they no longer identify with teenagers. This shows how ones identification of social groups can have huge contribution to description of themselves.

All in all, because of aforementioned reasons I agree with the statement that people define themselves largely through their identification with social groups. Identity crisis takes place when people are confused of which social groups they belong to and do not belong to. Especially in this day and age, mixture of gender, heritage, and culture happens a lot, thereby creating much confusion. People's inability to discern their idenfication with social groups hinder them from having a clear definition of themselves, which shows that the given statement is valid.