The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The assertion of the president of Bower Builders seems axiomatic. The president claims that the company should enlarge the size of the family rooms and kitchens in every homes, and create a better kitchen with high-end technology. To support the argument, the president cites a nationwide survey. However, the suggestion is ill-advised since the president has flawed assumptions.

First, the president refers to a nationwide survey that discloses that the two favorite features for most desired home are a spacious family room and kitchen. Here, the president supposes that this trend will also fit to the local people's taste. However, it is unsure if the nationwide survey accurately reveals opinions of the local people. It is entirely possible that the local people prefer commodious family dining room over large family room. Thus, the president should have to present evidence that the local people's taste concurs with the nationwide taste to substantiate his or her argument.

Second assumption the president has is that their competing firm, Domus Construction, sold their homes faster at higher prices than the national average owing to their features that contain a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. It is an incomplete observation since there can be other factors that aided in the sales of Domus Construction. Homes by Domus Construction may come with better bathrooms, spacious storage rooms and a garage; houses by the company may have competant features even besides a large family room and a large, state-of-the-art kitchens. Moreover, there also needs an assessment of market conditions and characteristics of different seasons because the high profit of Domus Construction might be owing to stable market conditions and high demands for new homes in that particular time and location. Therefore, without effectively ruling these variables, the president's claim remains dubious.

Third, the president claims that Bower Builders should build cutting edge kitchen and a more spacious family rooms at the expense of the dining room based on thoughts of the company's recent buyers. However, the reliability of opinions from their recent buyers has to be evaluated since they are only a part of the whole buyers, which implies that their opinions might fail to represent opinions of the company's entire customers. Also, the company should also consider prospective customers in order to increase their profits. Thus, even if thoughts of recent buyers concur with thoughts of their entire customers, the company still fails to incorporate opinions from their potential clients. This shows that opinions from the firm's recent buyers do not guarantee that the suggested changes would boost sales and profits when the company chooses to enlarge the size of family rooms and kitchens and technologically organize kitchens.

All in all, because of aforementioned reasons, the president's assertion is far-fetched. The president is basing his or her claim on gratuitous conjectures, which are not substantial. To strengthen the argument, the president needs to provide opinions of local people on home features, the exact reasons of the success of Domus Construction, and further analysis of opinions of past, present and future customers.