It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is debatable whether people's definition of themselves rely heavily on their identification with their social groups. Although that occurs a lot of times in our lives, it is not always the case.

First, there are many cases where large gap between characteristics of certain social groups and their people's definition of themselves are obvious. Sometimes, people think they are different from identification of their primary social groups since they are intrinsically different. Take members of LGBTQ for example. A lot of them identify their primary social groups as their families and close friends, who are not necessarily members of LGBTQ community. They were not only identified not to be different from heterosexual, but they were also taught to be one. However, despite their persistent contact with their social groups, many of them who define themselves as members of LGBTQ have not reached that conclusion because of their social groups; it was rather through listening to their own hearts and thoughts. Thus, regardless of what social groups one is involved in, each individual's definition of oneself can differ because every individual is innately discrepant.

Moreover, people's thoughts can evolve to be independent from prevalent thoughts and beliefs of their social groups through different experiences and influence. It often works as a limitation for one to view oneself as a member of a particular social group. History happens when one comes out of that zone and discover their own definition of themselves. Take a renowned Psychologist, Alfred Adler, as an instance. He grew up in a family where everyone expected him to become a shoemaker since his father was a shoemaker. And this was when people chose their vocation by their father's vocation, which makes this case quite common. Nevertheless, Alfred did not want to limit himself and challenged himself to be different, thus acquiring different definition. He broke the consensus and became a famous Psychologist, who is also a Psychiatrist, and a medical doctor. He did not let his identification with his social group become his definition.

Admittedly, humans are immersed in their own social groups, which makes them view themselves as members of their social groups. People's values and belief system are often swayed by values and belief system of their social groups. Nonetheless, identification does not equal to sameness. Every individual is unique and many people are aware of that, thereby defining themselves differently from their social groups. All in all, I disagree with the statement because of aforementioned reasons. Through listening to their hearts, desire, and ambition and also through uniquely different experiences, people's view themselves idiosyncratically from others. Social groups definitely work as a huge influence, but not always the primary one.