To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is debatable whether an effective public official ought to possess the highest level of ethics and moral. Although it may be difficult, it is desirable for a government official to maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

To begin with, it is indispensable for a public official to demonstrate good deeds as a representative of a country for educational reasons. Qualities of a president of a nation have the most powerful influence on what their people value. Ideas and value standards of citizens are, in part, molded by the policies and beliefs of a leader of a country; if a leader values A over B, it is likely that many people would start preferring A over B, just to emulate the leader. For example, a leader of Qatar endorses inequality towards foreign workders and discrimination against women. Many of the country's policies and laws are in favor of their male citizens, thus making their people to regard that policy as normal. Had the leader of Qatar possessed the highest morals, the nation would look drastically different through change in social milleu. Since the leader of Qatar is not a man of integrity, the entire nation blindly follows him, not realizing the gravity of the situation. Therefore, the leader failed to have effective outcome in enhancing well-being of the country.

Moreover, in order for a government official to have greater achievement, the ethical qualities the leader possess work as determining factors. Without possessing ethical feature at a highest level, people easily look away especially in a democratic country, and losing people's minds work as a critical factor against what the leader wants to accomplish. It is more so if the leader attempts to increase well-being of people by heightening their rights. For instance, Nelson Mandela, a former president of South Africa, ended apartheid and established higher level of equality. He was renowned for his non-violent protests and his ethical personal life. He is an inspiring figure even until now for his feats, but he would not been able to attain them without having been a moral person. Since he possessed a lot of socially desirable values, he could have a myriad of advocates, there by achieving huge advancement.

Admittedly, some political leaders who are morally corrupted had positive impacts on society, especially in economic sector. Park Jung Hee, a formet president in South Korea, achieved a rapid amelioratio in the country's economic status. However, still, he could be remembered and respected as a president who aided in economy and moral standards if he was morally upright. Even though he enabled the country to escape from poverty, he deteriorated people's minds by implanting the idea that results justify the means, which is a huge problem in South Korea nowadays.

All in all, because of aforementioned reasons, an effective political leader must be morally upright to the maximum level.