No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

These days, general notion is that collaboration yields significant advancement in a field of study. I agree with this notion for several reasons.

First, a lot of today’s research combines knowledge from different fields to produce more fruitful outcome. Development occurs through expansion of realm of research and study by incorporating different subjects. Take Psychological research for example. In Psychology, demands for knowledge of higher level statistics is increasing since such knowledge aids a lot in analyzing data more accurately; accurate and thorough analysis of gathered data is important in deducing more meaningful conclusion. Through taking different statistical methodologies, different outcomes are yielded, which in many case will be conducive to development of Psychology. If Psychology neglected the importance of collaboration, vast amount of findings in recent years would not have been possible.

Second, it is especially crucial in this competitive society to combine and create synergic effects out of combination. Due to highly competition, taking innovative means for advancement of a field is a much needed approach. Incorporation of engineering and fashion elucidates this. More recently, fashion incorporated with engineering more actively, thus producing quick dry materials, waterproof outfits, and insulating technology. Fashion industry has truly evolved through the combination. Had it not been for the adaptation, people nowadays would not be able to benefit from warm, but thin and stylish jackets, waterproof raincoats, and elastic, but firm jeans, all of which was breakthrough in fashion and in lives of many people.

Admittedly, however, there are some advantages of focusing on a single field. Such approach can prevent hodgepodge of information lacking in content and accuracy. Also, incorporation could distract people from the main objectives of a study, thus wasting resources. Nevertheless, these possibilities do not negate the statement that collaboration yields advancement. Although sometime generating misleading facts and distraction, combination’s synergic effect outweighs possible downside of such method.

All in all, I agree with the statement that every field of study experience immense development through incorporation of knowledge and experience from outside that field.