As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

It is debatable whether as people obtain more information, people rather fail to comprehend better because things become more intricate. The statement is not cogent because of several reasons.

To begin with, it is evident that with more knowledge, people are able to apprehend more compared to the past. With more progress in research and more information garnered, the most natural outcome would be for people to know more. As a matter of fact, people do have better understanding of their surroundings, which enables them to even predict the future much more accurately than before. In medical field, as an example, after intensive examination of a patient, doctors are able to have accurate assessment of a patient, sometimes detecting possible danger and predicting possible outcome with their patients' bodies. Also, people only several centuries ago, lacked in ability to estimate weather. Nowadays, however, weather forecast is done daily and hourly with high precision. Because people in these days are acquiring more knowledge, such assessment and prediction are available, thus making situations less complex and mysterious.

Furthermore, modern state-of-the-art technology elucidates that as people garner more information, things become more pellucid. Current highly developed technology manifests people's capability to utilize their obtained knowledge, which comes from better understanding of their environment. Invention of fMRIs, electronic automobiles, moving cameras, and tablets effectively depicts people's level of comprehension of this world. Because development of science and technology enabled people have more knowledge of mechanisms behind intricate machines, innovative inventions that are conducive to amelioration of a society are constantly released. If concepts became more perplex and puzzling, active exploitation of such concepts would be impossible and societies would have failed to reach current level of development. More knowledge yielded higher comprehension, ultimately leading to rapid development of a society.

Admittedly, in some cases, it seems like things are becoming more mysterious. Neuroscience, for example, experienced only little achievement and more intricate concepts are popping up as scientists delve deeper into the subject. Theories of certain neurons and brain structure are abundant, but no single theory is considered as fact as of now. However, there was a progress even in this difficult field; effective medicines that regulate excessive chemical release in a brain are developed to cure some of the mental diseases like dementia and depression. Thus, the given argument that more knowledge engenders more complexity is not cogent.

All in all, as people obtain more knowledge, concepts of this world become more understandable; aforementioned reasons corroborate the argument. Truly, humans apprehend only a fraction of this world, but humans have come a long way which enabled betterment of a society.