The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries claims that there will be an increase in profits after installing a detecting software to preclude employees from wasting time. Although this argument seems reasonable at a glance, the assertion is based on assumptions that are gratuitous.

First supposition the vice president has is that every internet use of an employee is irrelevant to work. However, it is likely to be an errorneous assumption since a lot of work-related activities can be conducted via internet such as sending and receiving emails, social network marketing, and researching in the web. Therefore, restricting employees from engaging in every internet use will rather facilitate decrease of profits of the company. The vice president will have to come up with better plans to distinguish internet use that are work-related and work-unrelated.

Second, the vice president conjectures that the company employees will only have access to company computers. In reality, nevertheless, it could be the vice versa. Even though it turns out that most workers use internet for entertainment, or personal purpose, installing detecting software can only do so much about it because employees will be able to waste their time with other gadgets. Personal computers, laptops, cell phones, and tablets are some of the examples. So many distracting factors besidses company computers can impinge on employees' workabilities. The author has to rule out these possibilities to bolster the contention.

Third supposition the author relies his or her assertion is that prevention of wasting time, specifically through internet, will yield improbement of company profits. Even if employees' waste of time is prevented, the amount of work they do might be similar. It is entirely possible that a lot of employees do overtime work due to wasting of time, which could imply there is no difference in the amount of actual work done, thus resulting in stasis of profits. Also, although employees actually finish more works by reducing downtime, this does not guarantee increase in profits. Other features like proper stategies to tackle different market conditions, technological advancement of the company, creating imposing items to attract customers, and interpersonal skills of employees could be more conducive to improving company profits. Thereby, the vice president nees to provide evidence that shows prevention of wasting time is an outweighing factor that will engender successful outcome in advancing the company profits.

All in all, because of aforementioned reasons, the vice president's claim depends heavily upon incomplete assumptions, which makes the recommendation ill-advised. To strengthen the suggestion, the author is required to give more detailed evidence regarding relationships between internet use and company profits.