Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

If everyone comprising a society is ought to follow just laws and go against unjust laws is debatable. Unfortunately, it is true that there are some unjust laws; however, simply disobeying laws is not desirable.

To begin with, there is no concrete standard to distinguish between just and unjust laws. The biggest reason for the nonexistence of a set criteria is that it is very subjective matter. How every individual views different laws depend largely on their different situations. Take tax for example. In many countries, people pay tax by percentage of their income. Inevitably, more affluent people have to pay more than who are less wealthy. This system could be seen unjust for people who are obliged to pay more; nevertheless, it is considered just for the entire society. Thus, if those people who ought to pay more disobey and resist against such law, serious detriments will be yielded.

Moreover, if the statement that every individual are responsible for following just laws and not following unjust laws, the fundamental meaning of existence of laws will become questionable. Laws are created to discipline people's demeanors and create the most desirable society possible. Law is a very important tool. Therefore, for a single law to be passed, there awaits an arduous and complicated process. Undermining the function of a certain law simply due to immediate disadvantage on oneself is not an attitude for a mature citizen to possess since laws are not personally catered for a single individual's benefit. If every individual in a society followed through the given statement-pick and choose what they want to obey and disobey-a society will become rife with chaos.

Admittedly, there are some laws that are so not just that they engender more vice than virtue. Passing of women's suffrage and same sex marriage cogently illustrate such cases. Before those laws were passed, discrimination against women and LGBT community was harsh. Thanks to those reformations, well-being of overlooked citizens is heightened than before. Therefore, instead of simply going against the laws that one disagrees with, individuals should choose peaceful and rightful means and processes to reform or create new laws to ameliorate current situations.

All in all, the statement that every person in a society should obey just laws and disobey unjust laws is not cogent because of aforementioned reasons. A mature citizen of a society ought to be able to look at the forest, not the trees, to create the most desirible society.