Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Law plays an important role in every society by regulating individuals’ behaviours in order to keep everyone safe and the society operational and liveable. Individuals in a society are obliged by laws to obey them, however, this does not take away people’s right to protest unjust laws. Therefore, I agreed to some extends with the claim, while some issues exist within it as well.

There exists laws in some countries banning people from their basic human rights. One may ask how these laws are passed in the first place, the answer is that some governments try to oppress people by passing unjust laws to keep them away from demonstrating their dissatisfaction. For example, in some countries the corrupted government bans people from forming peaceful demonstrations in order to keep them away from showing their discontent mainly because the government cannot handle objection as it has a dictatorial structure. The laws against right of peaceful protest, which is a significant example of a law which should be demonstrated, is against people’s right to show their discontent with the government.

Sometimes there are laws in place, designed in a way to marginalise a minority. To illustrate, Christians cannot gather in churches in some countries which have major muslim population. These laws are placed to oppress the minorities and force them to convert to the official religion of a country which is publicly preached by the autocratic government. One should note that the right for an individual to pursue their religion is a fundamental right which every human being one this planet must have. Generally speaking, not only must unjust laws, which keep people away from their fundamental human rights, be disobeyed but also they should be protested and heavily criticised.

On the other hand, many laws exist to control the population and keep an order in the society by exhorting people not to do as they please. To elucidate, drunk driving should not happen in the streets due to the fact that it can result in irreversible damages to people’s lives and properties and such behaviour should be avoided by placing and regulating strict laws. People should abide the law passed to ban drunk driving because it is passed to protect them and others from harm. People should obey laws and regulations in a society which are passed to protect their lives, rights and properties, because obeying such laws makes society more liveable. Imagine a society in which laws are not abided by the citizens, in this society economical activities cannot take place by investors since there is no guarantee of their return of investment, and no operational laws protecting their rights, which consequently makes such a society’s economy a very undesirable to investors.

In conclusion, laws protecting citizens and their properties should be abided and the ones keeping them away from their fundamental rights should not be abided and be protested against. Passing laws and regulations is a difficult task and people should take part in the process by choosing the right law makers and actively protesting their rights.